Wishlist

I wish I had a Vinicius life style. With travels and languages and lovers and dramas and booze. With awesome friends and poetry everywhere.

I wish I could take this poetry out of me as beautifully as he used to do. And make it memorable for someone as he does for me.

I wish someone could make music out of my sorrows. Or that I could drown them in whiskey as classy as he used to.

I wish I had as many platonic lovers as he did. And that I could write the most beautiful songs for each one of them – as they were so important and so brief at the same time.

I wish I knew who is my Orixá. And that he/her could tell me that love is great just when it hurts!

I wish I could leave this life knowing that I cried and lost my peace but that nobody ever had as much as me, Camará!

Vinicius, velho, Saravá!

* * *

This text was written while listening this awesome video – the best names of Brazilian music playing together. Songs are: Berimbau/Consolação/Canto de Ossanha (my favorites by Vinicius de Moraes) and I took the liberty to translate part of the lyrics and mix with my own words.

Vinicius de Moraes, Tom Jobim, Toquinho e Miucha! 🙂
2 comments
  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes said:

    Writing songs for platonic lovers… like that.

    Enjoyed the clip.

Leave a Reply

